On a beautiful Sunday at Thornleigh Golf Centre, the Australian Mini golf Championship which was sponsored by Coca Cola was contested by 30 very eager enthusiasts’.

We had four players from New Zealand, players from Perth, Wellington (NSW) Dubbo, Newcastle and two players from the Legends Tour.

Commencing the tournament with 72 holes, the players eagerly headed out for their first 2 rounds, with David Merriman shooting a record 73 for the first 36 holes to lead last year’s winner, Allan Cox, by 4 shots.

With a host of players within 3 shots of Allan, players were seeded for the final 36 holes.

Kiwi’s Bobby Hart and James Astrop were hollering in excitement making an early charge on the game courses, but like the Kiwis against Tonga, they were unable to hold their strong positions coming home.

Merriman started cautiously making two on every hole to the crucial 9th on the Palms where Allan Cox made a 1 against David’s 3. Cox then made one on the 10th and 11th hole to suddenly move forward in the competition and lead by 2.

Play was steady until the 71st hole where Allan Cox got hooked up under the rope, however made a great escape for a 3, alas Merriman couldn’t capitalise and made a 3 as well.

One great last putt on the 72nd hole, Cox fist pumped the air with excitement and tapped it in for a two shot win on a score of 150, picking up $1,500 in cash, the trophy and the Mini Golf Championship for the second year running.

Runner up was David Merriman on 153 collecting $800, 3rd place went to James Astrop on 156 picking up $600 cash, 4th place went to Kurt Cusack who had never seen the courses and managed to pick up $400 cash and 5th place went to Bobby Hart who collected $200 and the best dressed award!

Xavier Endacott won the Junior boys category and Zoya Parabhakr winning the girls category. Both junior players received trophies for their great efforts as well as golf passes for unlimited Mini golf for a year.

A great day was had by all. See you again next year for all to battle it out at the Mini Golf Championship in 2018.

Winners are grinners! Left to Right – 5th Bobby Hart NZ, 3rd James Astrop NZ, 1st Allan Cox, 2nd David Merriman (Legends Tour), 4th Kurt Cusack Wellington NSW

Pymble’s Jack Abadee in the final group

WA’s David Maiolo grazing the 11th hole, playing partners Richard Pawlenko from Dubbo and NZ’s James Astrop

Newcastle’s Madison Boyd trying to avoid the rock on the 14th hole

Last years winner Anson Lau battling with Xavier Endacott for boys junior category prize

Winner Junior Boys Xavier Endacott

NZ Bobby Hart shows his style

Allan Cox getting tangled up on 71st hole